PDA

View Full Version : What Happens When You Have A Body With Built-In IS, And An IS Lens?


Phaedrus
5th July 2011, 08:06 PM
Hi All,

As per title - can you set either/or to perform the IS, or will they interfere with each other? Can the lens IS typically be disabled to allow the body IS to do the job, or vice-versa?

For example, I'll soon have an E-620 (whenever paypal get their finger out and show my account as having received my bank transfer :mad:), and am wondering how things would work if I got a Sigma 50-500 with IS? Was there even one?

I understand Sigma's moniker for IS is "OS" - I take it that if the lens doesn't have "OS" in its description, it's not an OS/IS lens?


Thanks for any replies,

Mark

peak4
5th July 2011, 08:59 PM
Mark essentially, you can't have both working at the same time, and the camera is clever enough to tell the difference.
You can set either or, but not both.
I think if you enable IS on via the lens via the switch and also have it on in camera, the latter realises and disables it in the lens.
I did have a play, but can't remember the conclusion I came to in the end.

The bad news it that you won't get a stabilised Bigma for FourThirds as they don't make one.
They dropped the Bigma from the FourThirds lineup when the brought out the stabilised version.

I think I'm right in saying that the only stabilised lenses for our FourThirds format are the two PanaLeica 14-50mm & the 14-150mm from the same stable.

Obviously there are also Panasonic lenses for MFT, such as the 14-140mm

Ian
5th July 2011, 09:01 PM
Hi All,

As per title - can you set either/or to perform the IS, or will they interfere with each other? Can the lens IS typically be disabled to allow the body IS to do the job, or vice-versa?

For example, I'll soon have an E-620 (whenever paypal get their finger out and show my account as having received my bank transfer :mad:), and am wondering how things would work if I got a Sigma 50-500 with IS? Was there even one?

I understand Sigma's moniker for IS is "OS" - I take it that if the lens doesn't have "OS" in its description, it's not an OS/IS lens?


Thanks for any replies,

Mark

Usually if you have an IS lens on an IS Four Thirds or Micro Four Thirds body the body IS will have priority. But you should be able to switch body IS off and use lens IS if that is what you prefer. The only situation I can think of when this might not work is when the IS lens doesn't have an IS switch (instead controlled by the camera).

Ian

Phaedrus
5th July 2011, 09:08 PM
Thanks guys.

I guess given that any 4/3 Sigma 50-500 I might be considering won't have OS, it's moot anyway.

Incidentally, are all Sigma super-telephoto zooms called "Bigmas"? There are a few different ones I've seen referred to as Bigmas.


Thanks again,

Mark