PDA

View Full Version : Advice please on E-1 and E-620 remotes?


DJMC
30th June 2011, 11:55 AM
:confused:

Can anyone advise me what the options are for cable or wireless remote control units on the E-1 & E-620?

Why would I want cable over wireless or vice versa?

What aftermarket options have users found at less cost than Oly originals, how good are they, and links to where to buy please.

Not having any remotes at the moment I found myself using the shutter button with the E-620 tripod mounted the other day. No problems at all but I'd like to find a cheap remote for either/both camera/s for occasional use.

Many thanks for any info.

;)

abacus180
30th June 2011, 12:05 PM
Along the same line of question. Will a remote for the E500 work on the E620?

OlyPaul
30th June 2011, 12:17 PM
This is the one I use and is about the cheapest as well, works up to about 15 feet but need to be pointed at the IR Sensor on the camera.

http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/198_accessory_rm-1_4877.htm

DJMC
30th June 2011, 12:28 PM
This is the one I use and is about the cheapest as well, works up to about 15 feet but need to be pointed at the IR Sensor on the camera.

http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/198_accessory_rm-1_4877.htm

It says "except E-600", so does it work for both E-1 & E-620???

:confused:

OlyPaul
30th June 2011, 12:49 PM
It does on mine.:)

creigb
30th June 2011, 12:57 PM
Cables are RMCB1 on E1 and RMUC1 on E620
http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/198_accessory_rm-uc1_14176.htm
http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/198_accessory_rm-cb1_4870.htm

DJMC
30th June 2011, 01:04 PM
OK, so the advantage of cable is that I don't need to worry about the camera's IR sensor picking up the wireless remote's signal, i.e. I can be behind the camera, and the wireless remote gives greater distance from the camera, albeit with my having to be in front of it for IR connectivity.

Is that about right?

:confused:

Adagio
30th June 2011, 01:41 PM
I have a JJC JR-J (http://www.digitalmediastore.co.uk/camera_accessories/remote_controls/olympus/Olympus_RMUC1_compatible_Infrared_Wireless_Control ler__JJC-JRJ-D) which is claimed to be RM-UC1 compatible and work with E-620. It will operate either by cable or remote. In the latter mode one does need to point the transmitter at the IR receiver. Does what it says on the box. There is a JR-E for E-1 and E-3

DJMC
30th June 2011, 01:52 PM
I have a JJC JR-J (http://www.digitalmediastore.co.uk/camera_accessories/remote_controls/olympus/Olympus_RMUC1_compatible_Infrared_Wireless_Control ler__JJC-JRJ-D) which is claimed to be RM-UC1 compatible and work with E-620. It will operate either by cable or remote. In the latter mode one does need to point the transmitter at the IR receiver. Does what it says on the box. There is a JR-E for E-1 and E-3

I see the blurb says: "The JJC JR Series Wireless Infrared Controller is a 3-in-1 remote control which can operate as a 80cm corded release or up to 8 metre wireless infrared remote release, or 3 metre infrared remote control (using the cameras IR receiver)."

How does the wireless remote connect with the camera other than via its IR receiver? I guess it uses a radio frequency?

Do both the E-620 and E-1 have this non-IR wireless (radio?) connectivity?

:confused:

Adagio
30th June 2011, 04:26 PM
I can only speak for the E-520. The JJC remote operates in 3 modes.

1. Cable - transmitter connected via cable to USB port. No need for special camera settings or even battery in the transmitter.

2. IR remote with provided receiver connected by cable to USB port. No need for special camera settings . Pro - can point receiver in any direction so do not have to operate from in front of the camera. Con - need cable plugged in and can be fiddly if you want to occupy the hot shoe with a flash gun.

3. IR remote using camera receiver. Need to set Remote control / Self-timer / Sequential shooting in Super Control Panel.

I would be surprised if the E-620 was not very similar - hope this helps.

PS - Health warning - you will need a magnifying glass to read the instructions:)

DJMC
30th June 2011, 04:30 PM
I can only speak for the E-520. The JJC remote operates in 3 modes.

1. Cable - transmitter connected via cable to USB port. No need for special camera settings or even battery in the transmitter.

2. IR remote with provided receiver connected by cable to USB port. No need for special camera settings . Pro - can point receiver in any direction so do not have to operate from in front of the camera. Con - need cable plugged in and can be fiddly if you want to occupy the hot shoe with a flash gun.

3. IR remote using camera receiver. Need to set Remote control / Self-timer / Sequential shooting in Super Control Panel.

I would be surprised if the E-620 was not very similar - hope this helps.

Yes, thanks David.
Just about up to speed with it all now!

;)

abacus180
30th June 2011, 04:45 PM
Along the same line of question. Will a remote for the E500 work on the E620?
Apologies for the hijack on the thread, but does anyone have the answer?

timg
30th June 2011, 07:44 PM
Just an FYI, I have an RM2 remote which I received with my C770 ultra-zoom and it works just fine on the E510 and E1, only has one button but it works! :D

abacus180
30th June 2011, 08:43 PM
Apologies for the hijack on the thread, but does anyone have the answer?
I am getting the distinct impression that I am persona non grata on this forum.

DJMC
30th June 2011, 08:50 PM
Along the same line of question. Will a remote for the E500 work on the E620?

Cable or IR?

The cable end seems to be the same on both cameras from today's research!

;)

DJMC
30th June 2011, 08:56 PM
:confused:

This seems as good solution for cable operation of both E-1 & E-620 as it has both ends (although the E-1 one seems to have 10 pins!?):

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Wireless-Shutter-150M-Olympus-RM-CB1-RM-UC1-RM-1-/360301252942?pt=Camera_Camcorder_Remotes&hash=item53e3a0d14e

Another dual ended one which again seems to have the wrong ends?:

http://www.digitalmediastore.co.uk/camera_accessories/remote_controls/olympus/hahnel_Remote_Shutter_Release_Cable_for_Olympus__H AH-HRO280-D

It would be nice to have one cable I can use for both, but not sure if these WILL fit?!

:rolleyes:

meach
30th June 2011, 11:47 PM
I am getting the distinct impression that I am persona non grata on this forum.

Well - what to say. I know the answer to your question, but after your less than welcoming response to my last attempt to help you I don't feel inclined to help you again. And I can think of three or four other members to whom you've responded in the same way who are probably thinking exactly the same as I am. Then when you consider all the other members who read those posts it's not really surprising you're now not getting a response to a question several of us probably know the answer to. But - as you said to me - let's leave it there eh?