PDA

View Full Version : Alternative income source

sponner
7th June 2011, 06:31 PM
AS well as stock photo's I have been experimenting with Print on Demand products.

Initially I was using photo's, sales have been very low and probably not worth the effort, just the odd postcard etc.

e.g. http://www.zazzle.com/curious_cow_postcard-239727417111654615

I have made a few business cards, stickers etc using gimp to create simple graphics . These have done surprisingly well given my total lack of talent as an illustrator, my best one has earned me about $40 so far, not bad for 20 minutes work.

If you have some skill as a graphic artist I'm sure this could be quite a lucrative use of "downtime".

Zuiko
7th June 2011, 06:51 PM
AS well as stock photo's I have been experimenting with Print on Demand products.

Initially I was using photo's, sales have been very low and probably not worth the effort, just the odd postcard etc.

e.g. http://www.zazzle.com/curious_cow_postcard-239727417111654615

I have made a few business cards, stickers etc using gimp to create simple graphics . These have done surprisingly well given my total lack of talent as an illustrator, my best one has earned me about $40 so far, not bad for 20 minutes work.

If you have some skill as a graphic artist I'm sure this could be quite a lucrative use of "downtime".

That's interesting. How do you tap into the market for business cards and stickers? :)

sponner
7th June 2011, 07:17 PM
mainly on zazzle and another American site for business cards, Art of Business Cards (Zazzle is the better earner though). There may be other outlets, I haven't really looked into it that far yet.

I'm not talking mega bucks, like anything to make serious money you would have to invest serious time and or talent.

I have seen dicussion about some decent money being earned designing wedding stationary sets etc. Most of my sales so far have been in the US.

Zuiko
7th June 2011, 09:51 PM