PDA

View Full Version : Scanning negatives and slides

francois
1st June 2011, 09:00 PM
I have no experience whatsoever scanning negatives and slides. From what I can tell reading and searching the net, a dedicated slide scanner such as the Plustek give better results than flatbed scanners.

I've also seen some kind of attachment you slide on a lens. No idea as to the quality of the output with this. Much cheaper of course.

As I have hundreds and hundreds of slides to scan (about 35 years of my folks touring the world), I'm leaning towards getting a Plustek.

Thanks for sharing your experience converting slides to digital format.

snaarman
1st June 2011, 09:11 PM
Could be an excuse to buy a 35mm or 50mm macro lens :) I use a home made attachment with my 50mm macro lens to scan slides and negs, see in this previous thread...

http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=5759&highlight=scanner

Pete

francois
1st June 2011, 09:16 PM
Thanks for the link. You've done something similar to the slide copier option I was talking about. Something like this...

http://www.firstcall-photographic.co.uk/images/products/large/2958.jpg

... which can be purchased for around 50 these days.

I do have the 50 macro, so your option is certainly feasible.

I'm more interested in hearing about the quality obtained using the slide copier compared with a dedicated scanner, compared with a general scanner with negative/slide holders.

snaarman
1st June 2011, 09:33 PM
I'm more interested in hearing about the quality obtained using the slide copier compared with a dedicated scanner, compared with a general scanner with negative/slide holders.