PDA

View Full Version : E620 and Fl36r for macro

Danny
29th December 2010, 11:53 AM
Hi all

Its been ages since I posted here, and I've been browsing all morning seeing what I've been missing - other photography forums just dont cut it for advice, this place is the dog's charlies :)

Anyway, my wife was very kind to me this Christmas and bought me a FL36r flash for my Olys. I plan to use it mostly on the 620 for macro work, as wildlife is my main thing. Now, I have a bracket that fits to the tripod interface and this hold the flash nicely off camera to either side of the subject. I plan to use this as the flash sits high up on the camera and with the 35mm ZD I assume there will be shadows?

With the setup I am outlining above, would you guys think that I just need a flash sync cable to fire the flash? Or should I use it on rc mode? Any advice much appreciatd, I am a total flash noob!

Thanks

Danny

PS. I hope everyone had a good xmas and got lots of photographic goodies :)

shenstone
29th December 2010, 12:13 PM
I would get a cable

The RC mode in olympus is not radio, but light. it means you have to have your pop up clash operating as well which means 2 light sources.

This can help minimise strong shadows on close up, but it can also be tricky and a single flash will give cleaner shadows

However with a very close macro you could get into the situation where you have too much shadow and you may also want to consider a diffuser (like this http://www.digitalmediastore.co.uk/flash_accessories/flash_diffusers/olympus/JJC_FC26D_White_Flash_Diffuser__JJC-FC26DOY-D) and a reflector (http://www.virtualvillage.co.uk/5-in-1-collapsible-flash-reflector-005985-010.html ) for your collections. The products linked are just random grabs as there are so many vendors out there that do these sort of things

Regards
Andy

Danny
29th December 2010, 12:23 PM