PDA

View Full Version : Card full


Phill
26th December 2010, 11:19 AM
I have had a e-510 from a very good friend and after trying it out yesterday took 4 pics then transfered them to PC fell asleep after a bit and left it plugged into the PC when I tried to use the camera again it came up card full so swapped cards then that is the same so nipped out this morning to curry's for a new card and again card full message any Idea's please as my friend's health is not to good to pester him it wont format either just says card error then any advise welcome please

snaarman
26th December 2010, 11:52 AM
Hmm. Usual advice is:

Battery low or flat? - if it goes flat during the USB picture transfer then all bets are off.

If not then try this: Take battery out. Have cup of tea. Put battery back in.

If not then try a full reset (somewhere in the menus)

Hope this helps...

Pete

Phill
26th December 2010, 12:22 PM
These camera's take two types of memory card do you think swapping to the other (XD) may help :confused:

snaarman
26th December 2010, 12:28 PM
XD cards are considered Old Hat, being as they are expensive and slow. However many users (myself included) keep an XD card in the camera as a back up to the Compact Flash card. If you fill the first card you can carry on using the XD.

You could try the camera with an XD just to check it hasn't lost its marbles, i.e. can it format and use that card.

Pete

Nick Temple-Fry
26th December 2010, 01:30 PM
I wonder if this is a variant of the occaisional problem that has been reported with E-Series cameras and card count, which usually shows as a problem in the number of shots left on the card. In which case this thread
http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7948&highlight=card+free&page=2

amd more particularly this post

Hi all,

Just had a discussion with Olympus Support and I have been given a solution to this problem that does NOT need you to fire off all shots until the counter returns to zero.

I have not had an explanation as to why the cameras behave this way but at least we now have a way forward. If your counter sticks and continues to decrease as they have in both my E3 and E500, carry out the following-

E500 :- Menu/spanner2/FileName/RESET

E3 :- Menu/spanner 1/spanner h/File Name/RESET


From PeterD might help.

Though the menu options may be slightly different on a E-510, can't see it doing any harm to try.


Nick

Lord Minty
26th December 2010, 01:31 PM
Was the camera powered on when you took the card out by any chance? And does it have an xD card in it as well as the CF card?

I've taken the CF card out on my E-500 and as it had an xD card left in the camera it's automagically switched over to use the xD card. When I popped the CF back in the camera it ignored it and carried on writing to the xD card...

Then when I took the CF out to get the images I wondered where they were!

A quick check of the Super Control Panel should tell you which card it thinks it's using.

Phill
27th December 2010, 03:34 PM
Thanks all for your help , after removing the card I put in a new one it still threw the error message up so I reset all the default setting's and still no joy then a thought came to me and i got a strong magnifying glass out and inspected the base of the card and sure enough slight damage to one pin hole luckily the wife has some very small tools we identified the offending pin and wallah back in working order :)

Ross the fiddler
28th December 2010, 04:56 AM
Thanks all for your help , after removing the card I put in a new one it still threw the error message up so I reset all the default setting's and still no joy then a thought came to me and i got a strong magnifying glass out and inspected the base of the card and sure enough slight damage to one pin hole luckily the wife has some very small tools we identified the offending pin and wallah back in working order :)

You're very lucky then to rescue the connection pin. I manage to destroy my mini USB connector on my E520 in the dark, but was able to separate the pins to still use the camera. Good to hear you fixed the problem.