PDA

View Full Version : Flash for the dumb


Homer Simpson
10th December 2010, 07:28 PM
I've just found in the loft, 3 flash guns I used with my OM years ago

Two seem to work OK

Is there an easy way to get them to "talk" to my E520.:confused:
I'm thinking some sort of triggering.
I realise I can't mount them on the hot shoe (well i assume not) *shrug

roadkill_6mm
10th December 2010, 07:35 PM
How about some cheap triggers off ebay or similar? Manual only but good for off camera stuff

Neil

pepper
10th December 2010, 07:48 PM
It all depends on the voltages! If they are too much they can fry your cameras innards.

Helpfully I know of this little web site, where someone has gone to the trouble of collating a lot of the voltages already.

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

Hopefully, that list has the flashes you have, so you can compare trigger voltages.

Radar
10th December 2010, 07:50 PM
Check iShoot. Will cost you less than 20 and they work fine. Got lots my self using it with all kinds of flashes.

pepper
10th December 2010, 07:54 PM
If you find you can't use them directly, then you can always use them with remote triggers.

These on ebay can cope with upto 12v, there will probably be some heavier duty ones out there than can cope with higher voltages too.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Remote-Radio-Wireless-Flash-Trigger-2-Receiver-FLASHGUN-/170445995457?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_CameraAccessories_ CameraFlashUnits_JN&hash=item27af5f7dc1#ht_4157wt_1139

SteveJ
10th December 2010, 09:23 PM
I have bought myself a set of these triggers this week. And they work fine with some old flahes i also bought. It's fun trying different things with them and a hell of a lot cheaper than buying expencive flashes or studio lights....

Regards

Steve

creigb
11th December 2010, 10:42 AM
What is a "safe voltage" for 3rd party flash or transmitter on an Olympus E600? Could not see anything in my E600 manual. Note that the online E3 manual has a warning about some guns having 250V!