PDA

View Full Version : Olympus Studio 2 Vs Adobe Elements 6

Nova Invicta
29th February 2008, 11:13 PM
Firstly I have been a photographer for many years but in the analogue domain used very good labs to process & print my pictures. With digital I have always stumbled a bit with digital softaware for picture manipulation (frankly I dont like altering originally shot photos too much their either correctly exposed & framed etc or not) I normally only play around with contrast, sometimes sharpness, colour correction, and re-sizing.
I have recently down loaded trial versions of Adobe Elements 6 and Olympus Studio 2 and played around with both on B&W shots which are Jpegs. My qeustion is what are other peoples views on manipulation software previously I was using Ulead PhotoIpact 12 which has more functions but frankly is over my head.

OlyPaul
1st March 2008, 08:27 AM
Personally I think PSE6 is head and shoulder above studio and just as good as the full blown Photoshop if you are just a photographer and not into graphics.

All the images in my gallery were processed from raw to the finished image in
Elements including the scanned film images.

theMusicMan
1st March 2008, 08:36 AM
Hi

I'd have to suggest taking a look at downloading the trial version of Adobe Lightroom, it really is a first class Post Processing tool, as well as master librarian application. I do have Photoshop too, which, going forward, I tend to use less and less - with Lightroom being used more and more.

There are things Photoshop does that Lightroom doesn't, but in terms of Post Processing... Lightroom is the bees knees.

I haven't tried using Olympus Studio as a RAW processor so can't really comment on its functionality. As you seem to be looking and evaluating this type of software application, I really suggest you take a look at Lightroom. I know Elements is very good and most people here swear by it too.

Here's the link to Lightroom for you (http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshoplightroom/).