PDA

View Full Version : Advice please 70-300 or 50-200 or? for E620

Kittykat23uk
10th August 2010, 08:51 PM
Hi all,

Having posted in the introductions I thought this might be a better place to ask this. I'm very new to the E-system having only just bought an E-620 twin lens kit. But I'm off travelling in October in South Africa and would like to get either the 70-300 or the 50-200 lens. I'm not sure which at the moment, trying to weigh up the pros and cons (I also posted a wanted ad to see what's available at the moment so I do apologise for cross posting but I doubt I'll get the detailed reasoning or links to images in either of those threads, so that's why i'm posting here). If the Mods think I'm out of line for doing so, please delete this thread :B)!

One thing I know is I can afford a new 70-300 but not a new 50-200.

Anyway, my main interest are wildlife, birding, macro for this lens. Part of the trip I'm going on will involve a pelagic birding tour to see albatroses and whale watching. I'll also get plenty of use out of it back home in Norfolk.

All the best andthanks for the warm welcome.:D

Jo

Kees
10th August 2010, 09:22 PM
I own the 50-200 and it is an excellent lens, but for birding and wildlife I find the 200mm often too short. I never used the 70-300, so I couldn't comment on it's merrits, but the extra reach of the 300mm would suit your purpose much better in my opinion.

shenstone
11th August 2010, 06:44 AM
It looks like you have already decided in that you can only afford the 70-300

It's no bad lens. I have one and have enjoyed using it. You will see comments about it hunting a bit at low light and this is correct, but when you get it locked on you will get some excellent pictures.